top of page

INTERVIEWS WITH MASTERS: Igor Lazko Part II: Belgrade Years

Updated: Oct 17, 2023



Xenia: Please tell us about your Belgrade years and memories you have on the time spent there, where you worked as piano educator, pianist and recording artist from 1978 to 1992.


Igor: I could say that my Belgrade years have been my most productive and most interesting years.


I was 28 years old when I came to Belgrade, it is the age when one has a lot of energy, and I worked a lot at that time.


I had energy to practice piano for many hours for my own performances, I could work with students, I could give recital and concerts, record, and still have energy at the end of the day when I came home.


It was also a very interesting time of my life when everything was new to me - new people, new culture, new language, new mentality, even new air (smile) … among other things … it was very interesting. All that was a great inspiration to work a lot and achieve a lot.


During my Belgrade years I prepared material for and recorded Goldberg Variations (Aria with 30 variations, BWV 988) by Johan Sebastian Bach.


I fondly remember many successful recitals and concerts, always very warmly received by the audience, and very productive and rewarding cooperation with musicians and orchestras there.


It was very interesting to live and work in Belgrade and the memories I have on that time are very dear to me, so I tried to stay in touch. After moving to Paris, I visited Belgrade several time to conduct master classes, last time 2 years ago, and will maybe visit it again this year. If not for a war which I had to flee from, I would probably never leave.


To be continued ……


Picture: Faculty of Music, University of Arts in Belgrade where Igor Lazko worked as a piano professor


 

INTERVIEWS WITH MASTERS: Igor Lazko Part I: Intro


INTERVIEWS WITH MASTERS: Igor Lazko Part III: Competitions


INTERVIEWS WITH MASTERS: Igor Lazko Part IV: Plans For The Future And A Message To Young Pianists

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page