top of page

Sonata Quasi Una Fantasia No. 1

Updated: Mar 6



Today, it is all bout the first Beethoven's 'Sonata quasi una Fantasia' - Op. 27 No. 1 in E flat major (No. 2 being the 'Moonlight' sonata), as I am practising it right now.


When I hear the word 'sonata' - I always think of Beethoven. He is my sonata composer. To my opinion, no composer has came close to Beethoven in composing sonatas for piano.


There is always a lot happening in each of his 32 sonatas for piano. Each is telling a different story, filled with so many emotions, and with so much to discover, master, and enjoy. And - each a whole different world, each a masterpiece !


The Op. 27 No. 1 sonata consists of four movements:

  1. Andante – Allegro – Andante in E flat major

  2. Allegro molto e vivace in C minor

  3. Adagio con espressione in A flat major

  4. Allegro vivace in E flat major


This sonata is much more demanding than 'Pathétique' or 'Moonlight' to me, for many reasons. What is particularly difficult in performing it publicly, is that it has to be played continuously without pauses between movements, in the manner of most fantasias (therefore the name), and that requires great musical flexibility, concentration and focus, physical strength, and physical and musical endurance.


But the outcome is always very well worth the effort. Sharing that with others is a privilege and a joy for me, especially now, after a very long period of not being able to play piano.


However, 'Sonata quasi una Fantasia' - Op. 27 No. 1 also happens to be among my favourite Beethoven's sonatas, typically full of drama, extreme contrasts, passion, and raw emotions, which is what playing Beethoven inspires me to discover and express in and through my own personal and musical sensibility. Beethoven's music digs deep into some parts of my soul and personality that I am able to express only through playing his music.


I am looking forward to master it and share my rendition of it with you. Wherever. Hopefully soon.


Did I tell you that Beethoven is one of my favourite composers ? Especially his sonatas for piano. Interestingly, he is one of those composers, I much more prefer to play than to listen.


I selected two different interpretations of the sonata's second movement for you to listen - Allegro molto e vivace - my favourite movement of this sonata.


1. Claudio Arrau:



Personally, I like it more when it is performed slower, in a lyrical/dramatic manner, rather than rushed through. I adore Maria's crystalline tone though, which is unsurpassed, but prefer Arrau's slower tempo. Learning from both masters, I strive for something in-between in my own performances.


Which one do you like more ? Or is there any other performance of that sonata that you particularly like ? Do let me know.





110 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Chris Ethan Holmes
Chris Ethan Holmes
Sep 13, 2023

Both renditions are great. But I prefer Arrau's version a bit more. I always liked his interpretations of Beethoven's sonatas.

Like
bottom of page