top of page

PIANO MENTORING: Importance of Communication

Updated: Jun 3



A student asked me recently: "My 60 min class doesn’t seem long enough. I have so many questions, and so many ideas ..... I wanted to ask you to have longer classes but I wasn't sure if that is okay to ask."


Well, let me tell you, I always smile when my students ask for more.


A student should never feel/think of me as someone they have to consult a protocol officer to be sure they don’t do anything inappropriate or out of line. Their need/'thirst' for more is - ALWAYS A GREAT SIGN ! A sign that what we are doing is going very well !!! And, it is an opportunity I enthusiastically seize, even when I am really tight with time. (NOTE: I only accept a number of students who I can give myself fully too).


My students can say anything, ask anything, do anything during their sessions, of course providing it doesn’t hurt anybody (including themselves). They can also contact me between sessions (email, messenger, phone etc.) and get a prompt timely response.


I cannot stress enough the importance of communication. It helps us get to know our students by allowing them to share their experiences and their needs, and helps them connect to us. It allows them to express their feelings, pass on information and share their thoughts. COMMUNICATION IS ESSENTIAL ! We should leave no question, no inquiry, no need, no thirst for learning/improvement unanswered or unexplored.


To be a mentor is to profoundly influence a life in so many ways. My role in their life is that of an assistant, an ally, interested to keep up with what is going on with them in general, their physical, mental, emotional, social and spiritual situation and its changes, as they all affect and mold their artistic personality. Interested and able to understand them, respond and take adequate actions where required. One of which is to give them more time ! The least we can do.


There is no protocol officer for my classes. So, the answer to “May I have longer sessions ?” will always be a resounding, enthusiastic - yes !!!



 


Contact me HERE if you are interested in (conditions apply):


~  In-person One-to-One Mentoring

~  On-line One-to-One Mentoring

~  On-line Group Consultation

58 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


To be your student is a privilege. One comes in as one person and leaves completely changed for better. Spontaneity, elegance, depth of knowledge, fun is what comes to mind. Great experience indeed!

Like
bottom of page