top of page

LISTENING TO (CLASSICAL) MUSIC: Why it is Important

Updated: Feb 21



To all interprets out there: listening to good quality music is so important !

Regardless of which instrument you play, listening every day for a few hours to masters play is as important to your progress as it is practising.


Whether it is an active listening with music score in our hands, or while doing something mundane (like cleaning our house, gardening, ironing ...) listening goes strait into our brains and creates a model for our own performances.


Listening to music also improves cognition in the brain, increases dopamine (what neurologists call the 'happiness hormone'), and neurocognition. The dopamine also prevents the release of stress hormones. From here, mood is improved, which therefore clarifies thinking – making all tasks a lot more enjoyable. With these two factors working in tandem, it helps an ageing brain to stay active and healthy.


Not to mentions changing the vibration of our environment.


Animals and plants love it and greatly benefit from listening to classical music too. Music affects animals similarly to humans, while its effect on plants is shown in their increased growth and their ability to fight infection.


I placed one plant that did not do well on my piano, and in a few months it grew more than in previous years ! Did you know that Maria João Pires had a cow in Belgais, that loved to listen to her playing and placed itself in front of an open window to hear better ? Well, who wouldn't ?


So, here is what I recommend to piano students and pianists:



I definitely recommend listening to Maria João Pires for everything, Gilels for Grieg, Ciccolini for Debussy and Franck, and Richter and Gould for Bach. Olafsson for his interesting arrangements ...


I listen to Maria João Pires about 80% of the time, as she is my role model and the greatest inspiration for everything.


I also listen to Igor Lazko often, my former piano teacher and master pianist. His recordings of Bach, Beethoven and Tchaikovsky are exemplary.


I always say (with a smile): "When I don't play, Maria plays." Or some of my other favourites ..... My home is always full of music.


Maria João Pires - official playlist:

https://open.spotify.com/user/2v1mhvwh001rfzkq4djwzyhl



118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page