top of page

'Karl Kutschera in Wien' Piano

Updated: Feb 2



We (pianists) have to get in tune with each piano we play. Some more than 100 years old. It is an incredible experience to play on them.


My grandmother had 'Karl Kutschera in Wien' grand piano in her house (very similar to this one in the picture), the house I lived in for the first 6 years of my life. That piano was a piece of art (and history) with the keys made of ivory, although not very easy to play on, and needing to be tuned often.


It is the very first piano that I saw and played; all the time - while I lived in my grandmother's house, and after that - every time I came to visit. I started my official music training when I was 3 years old, but experimented with that piano even before. It looked enormous to a little child. I absolutely loved it, although it had a different sound and touch than modern pianos and I needed to adapt to it each and every time.


It is in a museum now, well protected and cherished, as it should be.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page