top of page

CONNECTEDNESS: Everyday Sort of Magic

Updated: Mar 18



“I do believe in an everyday sort of magic -- the inexplicable connectedness we sometimes experience with places, people, works of art and the like; the eerie appropriateness of moments of synchronicity; the whispered voice, the hidden presence, when we think we're alone.”


~ Charles de Lint


When we think we are alone, we often aren't.


This type of CONNECTEDNESS I experienced with several people, and in the presence of different works of art, but the strongest and the most profound was when I 'met' darling Maria João Pires, my one-of-a-kind magical piano mentor and guide. And I said 'met' because I first met her in some other place than physical reality. I met her in a place that has no name, where there is no distance, and where there is no time, a place where souls meet and where I continue to meet Maria, even when she is physically far away.



In that place I am able to feel and 'mirror' Maria's emotional and psychological state, because that profound sense of connectedness makes it possible. So then her ideas merge with my ideas, her creativity merges with my creativity, her music merges with mine, her artistic expression merges with mine ... In that place she teaches me and guides me and is much more than just my piano mentor. That place is full of light and laughter. Maria is actually guiding me through that light and laughter. It is a very profound communication and yet gentle, considerate, caring .... a communication that goes way beyond words though and therefore is not possible to fully describe.


That is pure - MAGIC !


A kind of everyday magic that is always there for us if we are open to it. A kind of magic that reminds us how connected we all truly are, and that when we think that we are alone, we often aren't !



 


NOTE: To ground you (and myself), because it is important too, I am already contemplating an article where I will discuss the importance of a correct body and hands posture for pianists.


In the meantime laugh often and continue to enjoy simple things in your life - the sound of birds, the smell of a wild flower, the touch of gentle breeze on your cheek, the soft fur of your cat or dog, the taste of morning tea or coffee ... simple things, just simple things :)




66 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Chris Ethan Holmes
Chris Ethan Holmes
May 31, 2023

You have such a fresh way with words Xenia Elizabeth Zilli, and are a true inspiration. Life is indeed full of magic, if we know how to look for it. Love the pictures and the sentiment and how you express your regard for Maria João Pires.

Like
bottom of page